Event details

30.05.2017 to 30.05.2017 // Online - Webinar

Connective Cities Webinar: From Solid Waste to Biogas

Connective Cities presents its 4th Webinar in 2017 on Solid Waste Management

©James Njoroge Gitau

Our society is facing serious environmental and social challenges by millions of tons of solid waste produced in our cities every year. At the same time we are always looking for better ways of producing renewable energy to keep us provided with electrical power in a sustainable manner.

Therefore we are happy to have James Njoroge Gitau from the Kariobangi South Welfare and Slums Housing Association (KASWESHA) in our upcoming Webinar. He will take us through a presentation on how they have been converting solid waste in Nairobi, Kenya into biogas and how this benefits the community he is working with. Mr. Njoroge Gitau will also suggest how this project can be supported further and replicated in other places that have scarce resources as well as in informal settlements in big cities.

Date: Tuesday, May 30, 2017, 08:00 (UTC) which is 10:00 (Germany) and 11:00 (Kenya)

Course provider: Connective Cities

Presenter: James Njoroge Gitau (KASWESHA, NGO, Nairobi, Kenya)

Language: English

Fee: none

Webinar registration: From Solid Waste to Biogas

Technical preparation (one day before): Please make sure you have the updated Java version installed (download and install from www.java.com if you do not have it already) and make a system check. Please find some technical instructions under the following link (PDF, 128 KB).

Contact: tutor.connectivecities(at)gmail.com / eva.prediger(at)giz.de

Region:

Related items

Top