Termine Details

27.02.2018 bis 27.02.2018 // Online - Webinar

Connective Cities Webinar: Recycling Construction and Demolition Waste

The 2nd Connective Cities Webinar on SWM in 2018 held on Tuesday, 27th of February

© Engineers Journal, Engineers Ireland

The 2nd Connective Cities Webinar of the year 2018 will elaborate on Recycling Construction and Demolition Waste and take place on Tuesday, 27th February 2018. The webinar will look at the general framework of recycling construction and demolition waste as well as introduce a practical African example.

Presenters

We are delighted to have Mr. Chris Whyte from the NGO USE-IT in Durban, South Africa present at the webinar.

Background

Given the fast population growth and urbanisation in African countries, there is an unpreceded demand for construction materials. Recovering and recycling construction and demolition (C&D) waste can be an advantageous approach in this situation as well as lead to a significant reduction of building costs. Disregarded C&D waste on the other hand, can cause soil and water contamination as well as deteriorate landscapes. Since construction industry contributes to an estimated 30-50% of different greenhouse gas emissions worldwide, reclaiming these materials – produced and disposed of at a high cost to the environment – becomes even more important.

Content

The webinar will introduce the fundamentals of recycling C&D waste and elaborate on the following questions:

  • What are the possible and working solutions for recycling C&D waste?
  • What is the institutional setting?
  • Who are the involved actors?
  • What is the process for C&D recycling?
  • What are the financial opportunities in C&D waste recycling?
  • Which challenges are faced?

Furthermore, practical experience from the RamBrick recycling project in South Africa will be presented at the webinar, followed by a discussion on possible C&D recycling approaches, challenges and success factors.

 

Participation at the Webinar

Technical preparation (one day before): Please make sure you have the updated Java version installed (download and install from www.java.com if you do not have it already) and make a system check. Please find some technical instructions under the following link (PDF, 128 KB).

Contact: tutor.connectivecities(at)gmail.com / eva.prediger(at)giz.de

Topic: Recycling Construction and Demolition Waste

Presenters: Chris Whyte (NGO USE-IT, Durban/ South Africa)

Date: Tuesday, 27th February, 2018

Time: 08:30 (UTC, Ghana) which is 9:30 (Germany), 10:30 (South Africa), 11:30 (Kenya)

Language: English

Fee: none

Access: Please follow the link for the webinar Recycling Construction and Demolition Waste (opens 30 minutes before the start of the webinar)

 
Additional links to the topic: Background paper on R&D waste recycling in South Africa, RamBrick initiative


Verwandte Inhalte

Top